An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Feature Search

Andersen recognizes 2011s top performers

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Whitney Tucker
  • 36th Wing Public Affairs
Team Andersen recognized six Airmen and four civilians for their hard work and dedication both on, and off duty during the Annual Awards Banquet held Feb. 10 at the Sheraton Laguna Resort in Tammuning.

Each year, the recognition of outstanding performers serves as a reminder that Airmen and personnel are the heart of the Air Force, propelling each mission to success.

"These Airmen are truly the best of the best," said Chief Master Sgt. Margarita Overton, 36th Wing command chief. "I'm proud to serve with such great talent here at Team Andersen, whether an award winner, nominee, supervisor or peer, every member of Team Andersen is doing great things for "Pacific Airpower" and our Air Force."

The following Airmen and civilians were honored for their efforts during 2011:

Airman of the Year
Senior Airman Angelia M. Pike, 36th Medical Operations Squadron

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year
Tech. Sgt. Wyll G. Yabut, 36th Medical Operations Squadron

Senior NCO of the Year
Senior Master Sgt. Lynn T. Rooker, 36th Communications Squadron

First Sgt. of the Year
Master Sgt. Shawn E. Bendixson, 36th Security Forces Squadron

Honor Guard of the Year
Staff Sgt. Marcus Thomas, 36th Maintenance Squadron

Company Grade Officer of the Year
Capt. Marcus L. Hunt, 36th Civil Engineer Squadron

Civilian I
Mr. David Laguana, 36th Civil Engineer Squadron

Civilian II
Mr. Mark Overton, 36th Communications Squadron

Civilian III
Mrs. Carmela Rapadas, 36th Wing Staff Agency

Andersen Volunteer of the Year
Mrs. Jacalyn Clark-Woods, 36th Maintenance Squadron

"Winning this year's Civilian Category III award was truly an honor and it was exciting to represent the Wing Staff Agencies," said Carmela Rapadas, 36th Wing Protocol chief. "I thank everyone who made this event possible."

Nominees for annual awards submit packages detailing their efforts in many categories, including job performance, volunteerism and education. The thorough process ensures each candidate embodies the total person concept and is truly a cut above.